What is the minimum auto insurance required in Washington State? Learn what amount you’re required to have and why this isn’t enough to protect you in a wreck.

Blog Subscribe to this RSS Feed

Car Accidents

view all

Testimonials

  • We are fortunate that he was our attorney
  • Andrew Kim did all that I expected of him and more
  • I had very nice experiance with Andrew Kim Law Firm.
  • Very honest and upfront.
  • Andrew made it very easy and simple for me and my family.

more

News

view all

Library

Car Accidents

view all

Washington’s Car Insurance Requirements: Is This Enough Coverage to Protect You and Your Family in a Car Accident?

If you are ever involved in a car accident either as the at-fault driver or the victim, you will need your car insurance coverage. How much coverage the negligent driver has—if he has any car insurance—will also be important if you must file a claim for compensation with his insurance company for the damage to your car and for your injuries. What are the minimum car insurance coverage requirements in Washington? Does this adequately protect you?

Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Washington

Like other states, Washington has a law requiring all motorists to have a minimum amount of automobile liability insurance coverage in order to drive in our state. This liability coverage is to provide compensation to victims of a car accident. All auto insurance policies must provide this minimal level of liability insurance coverage:

  • $25,000 per person for injuries caused by a car accident
  • $50,000 per accident if more than one person is injured in the wreck
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident

While there is no requirement that drivers purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage to protect themselves when the negligent driver has no or insufficient insurance, insurance companies must offer uninsured coverage.

Why the Minimum Insurance Coverage Does Not Adequately Protect You If You Are Involved in a Car Accident

Washington is a fault state, which means that the negligent driver is responsible for compensating the victim for his medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Unfortunately, $25,000 in liability coverage gives you little protection if you cause a car accident resulting in injuries. A victim’s medical expenses alone could be well above $25,000, and you could be personally liable for a substantial amount above your insurance limit.

In addition, if you are the victim of a car accident and the negligent driver only has the minimum required insurance, you will only be able to recover a maximum of $25,000 to compensate you for your injuries. This could be far less than you need to be fully compensated and to get back on your feet. Because of this, you should consider purchasing these additional insurance coverages:

  • Additional liability insurance coverage
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
  • Collision coverage to cover damage to your vehicle and its contents
  • Comprehensive coverage to protect against fire, theft, and more

Do you have further questions about your insurance coverage needs? Do you need to file a claim for compensation following a car accident? Our experienced car accident attorneys are here to help. Fill out our online form today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation.